National Representatives

FARO Executive Committee

Jennifer Mercer, US (Chair)

Morten Rasch, Denmark

Jérôme Chappellaz, France 

Anna Ólafsdóttir, Iceland

Takuji Nakamura, Japan

Elmer Topp-Jørgensen / Marie Frost Arndal, Denmark (FARO Secretariat)


National Point of Contact

Due to the invasion of Ukraine, Russia’s membership in FARO is currently paused.

Austria
Wolfgang Schöner
Austrian Polar Research Institute and Central Institute for Meteorology and Geodynamics
E-mail: wolfgang.schoener@polarresearch.at

Canada
James Drummond
Canadian Network of Northern Research Operators
E-mail: james.drummond@dal.ca

China
Sandy Shan
Polar Research Institute of China
E-mail: shanyanyan@pric.org.cn

Czech Republic
Jan Pechar
Czech Arctic research Station, University of South Bohemia
E-mail: jpechar@prf.jcu.cz 

Denmark

Morten Rasch
University of Copenhagen
E-mail: mras@ign.ku.dk 

Finland
Juha Flinkman
Finnish Environment Institute
E-mail: Juha.Flinkman@ymparisto.fi

France
Jérôme Chappellaz
IPEV - Institut polaire français
E-mail: dirpol@ipev.fr

Germany
Uwe Nixdorf
Alfred Wegener Institute
E-mail: Uwe.Nixdorf@awi.de

Iceland
Anna Ólafsdóttir    
Marine and Freshwater Research Institute  
E-mail:  anna.olafsdottir@hafogvatn.is 

Italy
Mauro Mazzola
National Research Council
E-mail: mauro.mazzola@cnr.it

Japan

Takuji Nakamura
National Institute of Polar Research (NIPR)
E-mail: nakamura.takuji@nipr.ac.jp

Korea
Dr. Sung-Ho Kang 
Korea Polar Research Institute
E-mail: shkang@kopri.re.kr

Netherland
Maarten J.J.E. Loonen
University of Groningen
E-mail: m.j.j.e.loonen@rug.nl

Norway
Nalân Koç
Norwegian Polar Institute
E-mail: nalan.koc@npolar.no

Poland
Piotr Glowacki
Polish Academy of Science
E-mail: glowacki@igf.edu.pl

Portugal
Teresa Cabrita
Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia
E-mail: tcabrita@campus.ul.pt 

Russia
 

Sweden
Magnus Augner
Swedish Polar Research Secretariat
E-mail: magnus.augner@polar.se

Switzerland
Danièle Rod
Swiss Polar Institute (SPI)
E-mail: daniele.rod@epfl.ch

UK
Henry Burgess
British Antarctic Survey
Email: henry.burgess@bas.ac.uk

USA
Jennifer L. Mercer
National Science Foundation
E-mail: jmercer@nsf.gov