IASC and FARO sign MoU to facilitate circumarctic infrastructure and science cooperation

On 20 October 2023, the President of the International Arctic Science committee, Henry Burgess (IASC) and Chairwoman of the Forum for Arctic Research Operators, Jennifer Mercer (FARO) signed a Memorandum of Understanding committing the organizations to work together to expand capacity for planning and supporting major international research initiatives.

The organisations will facilitate collaboration between the community of infrastructure operators (FARO) and the arctic science community (IASC) to improve our understanding of the Earth’s polar regions and their connections to the global system.
The MoU will cover the forthcoming 10 years and thus cover the ICARP IV strategy period and the upcoming 5th International Polar Year in 2032-2033.

Link to MoU